Leaders Link Episode 3

A conversation with Lindsay Levin and Nigel Topping

Leaders Link

22 April 2020

Welcome to our a new episode of Leaders Link : series of live-streamed conversations with leaders who have special reflections to share on some of the greatest challenges of our time.

Episode 3 features Nigel Topping, recently appointed as the UK government's High Level Climate Action Champion for the UN climate talks, COP26.  Previous roles include CEO of We Mean Business (a coalition of businesses working to accelerate the transition to a zero-carbon economy), and Executive Director of the Carbon Disclosure Project.

2020 was going to be climate action’s year – then COVID-19 came along.

Yet Nigel feels optimistic about global efforts on climate change. He tells us why, even amidst talk of a worldwide recession and inevitable pressure on climate budgets, he’s confident that the economic imperative to take action will win out.

He also explains how the postponement of COP26 might just offer a silver lining, and discusses the vital role each of us can play in fighting global warming. “Think of it as a 10-year time span”, he says, “and concentrate on solutions!”.

We'd love to hear your feedback! To share with your networks, tag #LeadersLink.

For our fourth Leaders Link session Lindsay will be joined by Jo Confino, a journalist (ex-HuffPost, Guardian, Telegraph), executive coach, facilitator and Zen practitioner. Jo will discuss ways of shifting from suffering to insight - and from insight to action.

To join our next episode on Monday, 27 April 2020. 4 PM (BST), 11 AM (EDT), 8 AM (PT), you can register (free) here. These sessions are open to everyone, so please invite your networks to join.

To receive the latest updates about this and other events, follow us on Twitter, Facebook and LinkedIn